Kansas City Estate Planning Society

Mission Statement

Helping our members best serve their clients by providing them challenging and timely educational programs and by hosting networking functions that provide an opportunity to collaborate with other high quality professionals to encourage a multi-disciplined approach to estate planning services and to promote long-term, ongoing relationships with local estate planning professionals.


Officers

President
Jeffrey D. Keiser
Jeffrey.d.keiser@ustrust.com
816-292-4389

(Program)
Vice President
Dianna.L.Smith
Dianna.L.Smith@morganstanley.com
913-402-5289

(Communications)
Secretary
Joe Growney
jgrowney@lathropgage.com
913 451-5105

(New Members)
Asst. Secretary
Jenna Hauschild
jhauschild@bkd.com
816-221-6300

Immediate Past President
Teal Dakan
tdakan@bkd.com
816-701-0251


Second Year Directors (Membership Chairs)

Trust/NonProfit :
Jonathan Klem
jklem@countryclubtrust.com
816-751-1461

Legal:
Ruth Brackney
rbrackney@lathropgage.com
913-451-5104

Accounting:
Rich Toftness
rtoftness@toftnesscpa.com
913 944-4302

Insurance/Financial Planners:
Ryan Patton
ryan@evpca.com
913-553-7605

Please submit any proposed new members to the appropriate Section Chair

First Year Directors (Program Chairs)

Trust/NonProfit:
Elizabeth Rowe
Elizabeth.Rowe@huschblackwell.com
816-983-8369

Legal:
Erin Anderson
eanderson@countslawkc.com
816-753-0900

Accounting:
Chad Gassen
cgassen@bkd.com
816-701-0200

Insurance/Financial Planners:
Pat Amey
pamey@makinglifecount.com
816-728-8224


An Invitation to Prospective New Members

In an effort to increase membership, we would like to extend an invitation to our members to bring one prospective member to the next meeting.  There will be no meal charge for the prospective member.  Please notify Jeff Keiser at Jeffrey.d.keiser@ustrust.com or 816-292-4389 ahead of time with the name of the prospective member and your name, so that you and your guest may be properly recognized.

Membership

If you know someone who SHOULD be a member, please submit your nomination to the appropriate Second Year Director (emails and phone numbers are listed below).  Make sure you include an email address for your nominee.

The qualifications for membership according to Section 7 of the By-Laws are as follows:

  1. General Requirements.  Membership shall be by invitation only, and shall be extended only to individuals who shall have had at least three (3) years’ experience in estate planning activities as one or more of the following:

(1) accountant, (2) lawyer, (3) life underwriter, (4) employee of a trust department, (5) certified financial planner, or (6) planned giving officer.  In addition, the individual must be currently devoting a substantial portion of his professional time to estate planning matters or administration.  In addition, to be eligible for membership, a person must meet the specific requirements of membership relating to his/her Section.

Once someone wishes to join the Society, a sponsoring member of the section to which the person would belong should send a copy of the proposed member’s bio, a short paragraph about the person and the e-mail address of the proposed member to the appropriate Second Year Director.

Reservation System

There is no need to cancel or call in your reservation except for the Holiday Celebration and Spring Fling.

Meeting Notices

Future meeting announcements will be sent to you via e-mail.  If your e-mail address changes, please notify Joe Growney at jgrowney@lathropgage.com